6 1/2 Week Ultrasound

23 May

Today was my ultrasound, and I can say that it was an interesting/trying day. I couldn’t sleep at all the night before, and kept waking up every few hours from my anxiety and worry about whether my baby will be alive or not. Also, a few days prior my father had a scare with skin cancer (not had, still has, and it has not been ruled out), so I have been even more on edge and feeling out of control. I woke up that morning and headed there with my mom and sister in law, which I can completely say us like the sister I never had, which is amazing. We got there, I asked if I could Skype my husband and they said go ahead. Ofcourse, him and I have been a nervous wreck waiting to see the ultrasound. He went to a cafe next to his work (he had just gotten off) in order to get better Internet for our Skype date. Ofcourse, kuwait Internet failed us. Yay. Doctor came in, observed the scan, and even though that specific machine couldn’t let us hear the heartbeat, we could see it. And I couldn’t believe my eyes, I’m still trying to take it in. My sister in law had recorded the whole thing- incase what happened with my husband would, which it did, and I sent him the video right away. It was one baby, not two, which makes the last scan still questionable. Here is where I was left worried sick: the heartbeat was 109. I looked at the tech and said umm isn’t that low? She said no, it’s fine, we look for anything above 100. But for some reason I couldn’t stomach it, and I knew I just wouldn’t. I will be another nervous wreck until the 31st, and I really just wanted some peace, that I havnt gotten a chance to have. I also did a urine analysis since I’m having uti symptoms, lovely. But on another good note…I have graduated from progesterone shots!! Those damn things hurt like a mother effer and truly left my backside sore. After dropping off 4 full boxes of used needles, please…don’t pass me anymore. But I will tell you one thing, those vaginal inserts are absolutely disgusting. The discharge from them looks the same as a yeast infection. There’s no running away from lovely old progesterone! But still…please pass it on all the way, because its supposedly doing the one thing my body fails at, which is protecting my baby. In the meantime, I will pack, get ready to head back to kuwait while I still sit and google and worry about that 109 heartbeat. Did she count it right? Was it because I could barely eat anything that morning? Was it anything I did to the baby without realizing? Oh my little nugget, mommy prays for you every single second of everyday. Please keep growing, and please let your tiny little heart get stronger and stronger. I’m doing everything I can, and eating everything that I can to have you be a healthy little baby. I love you.

12 Responses to “6 1/2 Week Ultrasound”

  1. newtoivf May 23, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    the doctors aren’t worried=you shouldn’t be worried….haha as if its that easy! Hope you can relax a little and start to enjoy it xxx

  2. Kristin May 23, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    I hope you start to relax and enjoy your pregnancy. Anything could happen, but it can only help to relax a bit.

  3. hopingonhope May 23, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    109 is a good number. Dont worry. Keep praying and thinking positive thoughts. Imagine, next time you meet your husband, it will be 3 of you. 🙂

  4. hopingonhope May 23, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Dont worry. Progesterone suppositories dont help to that extent. You will see a strong beating heart today. Praying for you.

  5. SM May 23, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    How far along are you again? I’m 100% sure that a HB of 109 is perfect in the early stages. The HB starts out slow and gets much faster. If the docs aren’t worried, I wouldn’t be worried! Enjoy today because today you are pregnant, my friend!

  6. prettycuteovaries May 24, 2013 at 2:02 am #

    How many weeks and days were you measuring? I’m positive that heartbeat is perfectly fine for so early! I was a little nervous about that at my first ultrasound, but it jumped from 119 to 166 in just a little over a weeks time! You’ve just got to give that baby time to grow!

    Try to stay positive, my heart is with you, friend!

  7. Lauren May 24, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Oh honey! I’m so excited for you! You have a baby… With a heartbeat. And a due date. Try to relax and enjoy this. I know that is nearly impossible, but I love you and I’m hoping with you!

  8. redbluebird May 24, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    I’m sure it’s impossible to not worry, but that number sounds fine for this early stage. Once you get past these early ultrasounds I hope you’ll feel some relief. Hugs!

  9. maternalstateofmind May 24, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    this is so exciting! congrats on meeting the little one, hearing its heartbeat and knowing its growing inside of you!

    oh, and Ive been on the vaginal suppositories for progesterone for at least 8 weeks now. Taking into account alllll the injections Ive had to give myself, I’ve never ever hated anything more than these damn suppositories. They’re are messy and disgusting! Good luck! 🙂

  10. katherinea12 May 25, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    Glad to hear that you have a beautiful little one with a heartbeat. It is so hard not to worry. Many, many thoughts and hopes that everything keeps going well.

  11. theunexpectedtrip May 25, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

    sending a warm, reassuring hugs to you and the lil one. xo

  12. Fertility Doll May 26, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    Finally online again and catching up. Try not to worry too much. InshaAllah the heartbeat is just fine. You have gotten so far – keep positive and reciting Ayatul Kursi to your little seed. Thinking of you lots x

Leave a comment